RSS

Watching my son grow up…

16 Aug

I have always said that we are not raising children, but raising future adults. Today I came to the realization that my son is now a man. I have watched him morph into this completely adult person in the last few months. It has been amazing and I am very proud. I thank the Lord that he is becoming a true man of God.

First, he graduated from high school. I know that this a route that all kids must take but he made some really wise decisions at his Prom.

Then I watched him be all responsible for his three sisters when we were in Paris and Amsterdam. He always made sure that he was at the back of the pack. Dad leading the way and he kept his eye on them to make sure they didn’t get lost.

Once we were back home he dove into is summer job with a vengeance. Working as much as he can so that he can finish university debt free. I believe he will do it.

Today was a big day. Today he drove out to help a senior in our church. She is a widow, 88 years old and recently fell and broke her shoulder. He is not expecting to be paid for today. He said that it is our responsibility to help her, she’s part of our church family and that is what family should do for each other. He weeded her garden, had coffee time at 10:00 and chatted with her for half and hour. She doesn’t have any children or grandchildren so this would have been a really special time for her.

Seeing him act so responsible and grown up does my heart good. It makes me feel that we have done a good job raising him and that all the prayers that we have said for him have been heard and answered.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 16, 2011 in Faith, General, Volunteer Work

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Watching my son grow up…

  1. Heather dh

    September 12, 2011 at 9:10 am

    Yes i’ve often thought and meant to ask you for your parenting book! Ben is entering a new phase and its been neat to watch him mature over the past 4 years at youth group. I can only hope and pray that my son and daughters turn out to be such responsible teens! Always ready, serving hearts, smiling and polite, can carry on a adult conversation, open about their faith and not afraid to step out of their comfort zones and join in! Great job you two! Cant wait to see what young adulthood brings!

     
    • iamdeterminedto

      September 12, 2011 at 9:15 am

      Thanks Heather. I see your kids and the way you are with them. You are on track for great teens and great adults because they are already awesome children. Just follow the greatest parenting handbook ever, the Bible and you are all set. By the way, the Bible is what we use and I just can’t improve on that! The one thing I can add, is stand together as parents. Kids know when there is not a united front and they will use it to their advantage.

       

Leave a Reply

 
