RSS

Mind gets in the way of running

07 Apr

Today I went running again. (Again I did it during my volunteer time!)  The weather was perfect!  My problem today was that I figured I could run my 5k faster than I ran it on Tuesday.  So I headed out.  It felt great, I kept a really good pace.  I kept too good of a pace.  I ran at a pace that my body was not prepared for.  I fell apart after the first 2.5k.  I was disheartened.  I started to get mad at myself.

But I kept running.  I struggled through the last half of my run.  When I hit the 5k mark, I looked at my Garmin 405 and realized that I finished only 30 seconds slower than my Tuesday run.

What I learned today is that I need to be kinder to myself.  I need to enjoy my running and I need to take things at the right pace.  My body needs to be comfortable with my current pace before I can go faster.  Maybe I will have to get in some hill training in on the weekend!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 7, 2011 in Running

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
